Mike Munson - "ROSE HILL" - LP

Sale price Price $20.00 Regular price

We've been luring Mike Munson to record his next album with us ever since Jimmy "Duck" Holmes saw Mike play in Winona, MN, Mike Munson's hometown along the banks of the Mississippi River on US 61 - the Blues Highway.  When Jimmy heard Mike open his set with a Jack Owens song, he stopped what he was doing, listened intently and then leaned over to me and said, "Listen to that.  He plays that like Jack."  At the end of the song, Jimmy turned and said, "He's got to be our next record.  Talk to him.  Make it happen."  Three years later, we are absolutely thrilled to release Rose Hill by Mike Munson on 180g vinyl.    

Recorded at the Blue Front Cafe in Bentonia, MS where Skip James, Henry Stuckey, Jack Owens, Cornelius Bright, Jimmy "Duck" Holmes and others developed the haunting Bentonia Blues sound, this album is steeped in the Bentonia and Delta Blues traditions of Mississippi and the folk blues traditions of Minnesota.  Munson combined these unique traditions from each end of the Blues Highway into a complex and compelling album that we are sure you will enjoy as much as we do!

Rose Hill is also available on Compact Disc and Digital Download.  

Track Listing:

1.  Rotgut Devil

2.  Jack Ain't Had No Water (Jack Owens) - feat. Jimmy "Duck" Holmes on harmonica.

3.  Sinner

4.  Illinois Blues (Skip James)

5.  Rose Hill 

6.  Keep Your Lamps Trimmed and Burning

7.  Broke & Hungry - feat. Jimmy "Duck" Holmes (vocals) and Libby Rae Watson (saw)

8.  Good as Good May Be

9.  Ratcatcher

10.  Shake em On Down (Booker White)

11.  Big Black